Commit e6464694 authored by Jiri Slaby's avatar Jiri Slaby Committed by Linus Torvalds

exit_thread: accept a task parameter to be exited

We need to call exit_thread from copy_process in a fail path.  So make it
accept task_struct as a parameter.

[v2]
* s390: exit_thread_runtime_instr doesn't make sense to be called for
  non-current tasks.
* arm: fix the comment in vfp_thread_copy
* change 'me' to 'tsk' for task_struct
* now we can change only archs that actually have exit_thread

[akpm@linux-foundation.org: coding-style fixes]
Signed-off-by: default avatarJiri Slaby <jslaby@suse.cz>
Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>
Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: "James E.J. Bottomley" <jejb@parisc-linux.org>
Cc: Aurelien Jacquiot <a-jacquiot@ti.com>
Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
Cc: Chen Liqin <liqin.linux@gmail.com>
Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@mellanox.com>
Cc: Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net>
Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>
Cc: Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com>
Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>
Cc: Guan Xuetao <gxt@mprc.pku.edu.cn>
Cc: Haavard Skinnemoen <hskinnemoen@gmail.com>
Cc: Hans-Christian Egtvedt <egtvedt@samfundet.no>
Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>
Cc: Helge Deller <deller@gmx.de>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
Cc: Ivan Kokshaysky <ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru>
Cc: James Hogan <james.hogan@imgtec.com>
Cc: Jeff Dike <jdike@addtoit.com>
Cc: Jesper Nilsson <jesper.nilsson@axis.com>
Cc: Jiri Slaby <jslaby@suse.cz>
Cc: Jonas Bonn <jonas@southpole.se>
Cc: Koichi Yasutake <yasutake.koichi@jp.panasonic.com>
Cc: Lennox Wu <lennox.wu@gmail.com>
Cc: Ley Foon Tan <lftan@altera.com>
Cc: Mark Salter <msalter@redhat.com>
Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>
Cc: Matt Turner <mattst88@gmail.com>
Cc: Max Filippov <jcmvbkbc@gmail.com>
Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>
Cc: Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu>
Cc: Mikael Starvik <starvik@axis.com>
Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
Cc: Rich Felker <dalias@libc.org>
Cc: Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net>
Cc: Richard Kuo <rkuo@codeaurora.org>
Cc: Richard Weinberger <richard@nod.at>
Cc: Russell King <linux@arm.linux.org.uk>
Cc: Steven Miao <realmz6@gmail.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>
Cc: Vineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com>
Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp>
Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
parent 5f56a5df
......@@ -193,9 +193,9 @@ EXPORT_SYMBOL_GPL(thread_notify_head);
/*
* Free current thread data structures etc..
*/
void exit_thread(void)
void exit_thread(struct task_struct *tsk)
{
thread_notify(THREAD_NOTIFY_EXIT, current_thread_info());
thread_notify(THREAD_NOTIFY_EXIT, task_thread_info(tsk));
}
void flush_thread(void)
......
......@@ -156,10 +156,6 @@ static void vfp_thread_copy(struct thread_info *thread)
* - we could be preempted if tree preempt rcu is enabled, so
* it is unsafe to use thread->cpu.
* THREAD_NOTIFY_EXIT
* - the thread (v) will be running on the local CPU, so
* v === current_thread_info()
* - thread->cpu is the local CPU number at the time it is accessed,
* but may change at any time.
* - we could be preempted if tree preempt rcu is enabled, so
* it is unsafe to use thread->cpu.
*/
......
......@@ -62,9 +62,9 @@ void machine_restart(char *cmd)
/*
* Free current thread data structures etc
*/
void exit_thread(void)
void exit_thread(struct task_struct *tsk)
{
ocd_disable(current);
ocd_disable(tsk);
}
void flush_thread(void)
......
......@@ -33,9 +33,9 @@ void default_idle(void)
*/
extern void deconfigure_bp(long pid);
void exit_thread(void)
void exit_thread(struct task_struct *tsk)
{
deconfigure_bp(current->pid);
deconfigure_bp(tsk->pid);
}
/*
......
......@@ -4542,8 +4542,8 @@ pfm_context_unload(pfm_context_t *ctx, void *arg, int count, struct pt_regs *reg
/*
* called only from exit_thread(): task == current
* we come here only if current has a context attached (loaded or masked)
* called only from exit_thread()
* we come here only if the task has a context attached (loaded or masked)
*/
void
pfm_exit_thread(struct task_struct *task)
......
......@@ -570,22 +570,22 @@ flush_thread (void)
}
/*
* Clean up state associated with current thread. This is called when
* Clean up state associated with a thread. This is called when
* the thread calls exit().
*/
void
exit_thread (void)
exit_thread (struct task_struct *tsk)
{
ia64_drop_fpu(current);
ia64_drop_fpu(tsk);
#ifdef CONFIG_PERFMON
/* if needed, stop monitoring and flush state to perfmon context */
if (current->thread.pfm_context)
pfm_exit_thread(current);
if (tsk->thread.pfm_context)
pfm_exit_thread(tsk);
/* free debug register resources */
if (current->thread.flags & IA64_THREAD_DBG_VALID)
pfm_release_debug_registers(current);
if (tsk->thread.flags & IA64_THREAD_DBG_VALID)
pfm_release_debug_registers(tsk);
#endif
}
......
......@@ -345,10 +345,10 @@ void flush_thread(void)
/*
* Free current thread data structures etc.
*/
void exit_thread(void)
void exit_thread(struct task_struct *tsk)
{
clear_fpu(&current->thread);
clear_dsp(&current->thread);
clear_fpu(&tsk->thread);
clear_dsp(&tsk->thread);
}
/* TODO: figure out how to unwind the kernel stack here to figure out
......
......@@ -103,9 +103,9 @@ void show_regs(struct pt_regs *regs)
/*
* free current thread data structures etc..
*/
void exit_thread(void)
void exit_thread(struct task_struct *tsk)
{
exit_fpu(current);
exit_fpu(tsk);
}
void flush_thread(void)
......
......@@ -68,9 +68,10 @@ extern void kernel_thread_starter(void);
/*
* Free current thread data structures etc..
*/
void exit_thread(void)
void exit_thread(struct task_struct *tsk)
{
exit_thread_runtime_instr();
if (tsk == current)
exit_thread_runtime_instr();
}
void flush_thread(void)
......
......@@ -288,7 +288,7 @@ void show_regs(struct pt_regs *regs)
/*
* Free current thread data structures etc..
*/
void exit_thread(void)
void exit_thread(struct task_struct *tsk)
{
/*
* See arch/sparc/kernel/process.c for the precedent for doing
......@@ -307,9 +307,8 @@ void exit_thread(void)
* which it would get safely nulled.
*/
#ifdef CONFIG_SH_FPU
if (last_task_used_math == current) {
if (last_task_used_math == tsk)
last_task_used_math = NULL;
}
#endif
}
......
......@@ -184,21 +184,21 @@ unsigned long thread_saved_pc(struct task_struct *tsk)
/*
* Free current thread data structures etc..
*/
void exit_thread(void)
void exit_thread(struct task_struct *tsk)
{
#ifndef CONFIG_SMP
if(last_task_used_math == current) {
if (last_task_used_math == tsk) {
#else
if (test_thread_flag(TIF_USEDFPU)) {
if (test_ti_thread_flag(task_thread_info(tsk), TIF_USEDFPU)) {
#endif
/* Keep process from leaving FPU in a bogon state. */
put_psr(get_psr() | PSR_EF);
fpsave(&current->thread.float_regs[0], &current->thread.fsr,
&current->thread.fpqueue[0], &current->thread.fpqdepth);
fpsave(&tsk->thread.float_regs[0], &tsk->thread.fsr,
&tsk->thread.fpqueue[0], &tsk->thread.fpqdepth);
#ifndef CONFIG_SMP
last_task_used_math = NULL;
#else
clear_thread_flag(TIF_USEDFPU);
clear_ti_thread_flag(task_thread_info(tsk), TIF_USEDFPU);
#endif
}
}
......
......@@ -417,9 +417,9 @@ unsigned long thread_saved_pc(struct task_struct *tsk)
}
/* Free current thread data structures etc.. */
void exit_thread(void)
void exit_thread(struct task_struct *tsk)
{
struct thread_info *t = current_thread_info();
struct thread_info *t = task_thread_info(tsk);
if (t->utraps) {
if (t->utraps[0] < 2)
......
......@@ -541,7 +541,7 @@ void flush_thread(void)
/*
* Free current thread data structures etc..
*/
void exit_thread(void)
void exit_thread(struct task_struct *tsk)
{
#ifdef CONFIG_HARDWALL
/*
......@@ -550,7 +550,7 @@ void exit_thread(void)
* the last reference to a hardwall fd, it would already have
* been released and deactivated at this point.)
*/
hardwall_deactivate_all(current);
hardwall_deactivate_all(tsk);
#endif
}
......
......@@ -97,10 +97,9 @@ int arch_dup_task_struct(struct task_struct *dst, struct task_struct *src)
/*
* Free current thread data structures etc..
*/
void exit_thread(void)
void exit_thread(struct task_struct *tsk)
{
struct task_struct *me = current;
struct thread_struct *t = &me->thread;
struct thread_struct *t = &tsk->thread;
unsigned long *bp = t->io_bitmap_ptr;
struct fpu *fpu = &t->fpu;
......
......@@ -115,10 +115,10 @@ void arch_cpu_idle(void)
/*
* This is called when the thread calls exit().
*/
void exit_thread(void)
void exit_thread(struct task_struct *tsk)
{
#if XTENSA_HAVE_COPROCESSORS
coprocessor_release_all(current_thread_info());
coprocessor_release_all(task_thread_info(tsk));
#endif
}
......
......@@ -2771,9 +2771,9 @@ static inline int copy_thread_tls(
extern void flush_thread(void);
#ifdef CONFIG_HAVE_EXIT_THREAD
extern void exit_thread(void);
extern void exit_thread(struct task_struct *tsk);
#else
static inline void exit_thread(void)
static inline void exit_thread(struct task_struct *tsk)
{
}
#endif
......
......@@ -746,7 +746,7 @@ void do_exit(long code)
disassociate_ctty(1);
exit_task_namespaces(tsk);
exit_task_work(tsk);
exit_thread();
exit_thread(tsk);
/*
* Flush inherited counters to the parent - before the parent
......
Markdown is supported
0% or
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment