Commit ef465014 authored by Boris Brezillon's avatar Boris Brezillon Committed by Linus Torvalds

mm/cma.c: take __GFP_NOWARN into account in cma_alloc()

cma_alloc() unconditionally prints an INFO message when the CMA
allocation fails.  Make this message conditional on the non-presence of
__GFP_NOWARN in gfp_mask.

This patch aims at removing INFO messages that are displayed when the
VC4 driver tries to allocate buffer objects.  From the driver
perspective an allocation failure is acceptable, and the driver can
possibly do something to make following allocation succeed (like
flushing the VC4 internal cache).

Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20171004125447.15195-1-boris.brezillon@free-electrons.comSigned-off-by: default avatarBoris Brezillon <boris.brezillon@free-electrons.com>
Acked-by: default avatarLaura Abbott <labbott@redhat.com>
Cc: Jaewon Kim <jaewon31.kim@samsung.com>
Cc: David Airlie <airlied@linux.ie>
Cc: Daniel Vetter <daniel@ffwll.ch>
Cc: Eric Anholt <eric@anholt.net>
Cc: Joonsoo Kim <iamjoonsoo.kim@lge.com>
Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
parent 51962a9d
......@@ -460,7 +460,7 @@ struct page *cma_alloc(struct cma *cma, size_t count, unsigned int align,
trace_cma_alloc(pfn, page, count, align);
if (ret) {
if (ret && !(gfp_mask & __GFP_NOWARN)) {
pr_info("%s: alloc failed, req-size: %zu pages, ret: %d\n",
__func__, count, ret);
cma_debug_show_areas(cma);
......
Markdown is supported
0% or
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment