• Linus Walleij's avatar
    Documentation: update the devices.txt documentation · ebdf4040
    Linus Walleij authored
    Alan is no longer maintaining this list through the Linux assigned
    numbers authority. Make it a collective document by referring to
    "the maintainers" in plural throughout, and naming the chardev and
    block layer maintainers in particular as parties of involvement.
    Cut down and remove some sections that pertained to the process of
    maintaining the list at lanana.org and contacting Alan directly.
    
    Make it clear that this document, in the kernel, is the master
    document.
    
    Also move paragraphs around so as to emphasize dynamic major number
    allocation.
    
    Remove paragraph on 2.6 deprecation, that tag no longer appears
    anywhere in the file.
    
    Cc: Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>
    Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
    Cc: Alan Cox <alan@linux.intel.com>
    Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
    Cc: Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk>
    Signed-off-by: 's avatarLinus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>
    Signed-off-by: 's avatarGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
    ebdf4040
CREDITS 95.5 KB