• Hari Bathini's avatar
    perf: Add PERF_RECORD_NAMESPACES to include namespaces related info · e4222673
    Hari Bathini authored
    With the advert of container technologies like docker, that depend on
    namespaces for isolation, there is a need for tracing support for
    namespaces. This patch introduces new PERF_RECORD_NAMESPACES event for
    recording namespaces related info. By recording info for every
    namespace, it is left to userspace to take a call on the definition of a
    container and trace containers by updating perf tool accordingly.
    
    Each namespace has a combination of device and inode numbers. Though
    every namespace has the same device number currently, that may change in
    future to avoid the need for a namespace of namespaces. Considering such
    possibility, record both device and inode numbers separately for each
    namespace.
    Signed-off-by: 's avatarHari Bathini <hbathini@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
    Acked-by: 's avatarJiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org>
    Acked-by: 's avatarPeter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
    Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
    Cc: Alexei Starovoitov <ast@fb.com>
    Cc: Ananth N Mavinakayanahalli <ananth@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
    Cc: Aravinda Prasad <aravinda@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
    Cc: Brendan Gregg <brendan.d.gregg@gmail.com>
    Cc: Daniel Borkmann <daniel@iogearbox.net>
    Cc: Eric Biederman <ebiederm@xmission.com>
    Cc: Sargun Dhillon <sargun@sargun.me>
    Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
    Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/148891929686.25309.2827618988917007768.stgit@hbathini.in.ibm.comSigned-off-by: 's avatarArnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
    e4222673