Commit b7f0554a authored by Dan Williams's avatar Dan Williams Committed by Linus Torvalds

mm: fail get_vaddr_frames() for filesystem-dax mappings

Until there is a solution to the dma-to-dax vs truncate problem it is
not safe to allow V4L2, Exynos, and other frame vector users to create
long standing / irrevocable memory registrations against filesytem-dax
vmas.

[dan.j.williams@intel.com: add comment for vma_is_fsdax() check in get_vaddr_frames(), per Jan]
  Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/151197874035.26211.4061781453123083667.stgit@dwillia2-desk3.amr.corp.intel.com
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/151068939985.7446.15684639617389154187.stgit@dwillia2-desk3.amr.corp.intel.com
Fixes: 3565fce3 ("mm, x86: get_user_pages() for dax mappings")
Signed-off-by: default avatarDan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
Reviewed-by: default avatarJan Kara <jack@suse.cz>
Cc: Inki Dae <inki.dae@samsung.com>
Cc: Seung-Woo Kim <sw0312.kim@samsung.com>
Cc: Joonyoung Shim <jy0922.shim@samsung.com>
Cc: Kyungmin Park <kyungmin.park@samsung.com>
Cc: Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab@kernel.org>
Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>
Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de>
Cc: Doug Ledford <dledford@redhat.com>
Cc: Hal Rosenstock <hal.rosenstock@gmail.com>
Cc: Jason Gunthorpe <jgg@mellanox.com>
Cc: Jeff Moyer <jmoyer@redhat.com>
Cc: Ross Zwisler <ross.zwisler@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Sean Hefty <sean.hefty@intel.com>
Cc: <stable@vger.kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
parent 2bb6d283
...@@ -53,6 +53,18 @@ int get_vaddr_frames(unsigned long start, unsigned int nr_frames, ...@@ -53,6 +53,18 @@ int get_vaddr_frames(unsigned long start, unsigned int nr_frames,
ret = -EFAULT; ret = -EFAULT;
goto out; goto out;
} }
/*
* While get_vaddr_frames() could be used for transient (kernel
* controlled lifetime) pinning of memory pages all current
* users establish long term (userspace controlled lifetime)
* page pinning. Treat get_vaddr_frames() like
* get_user_pages_longterm() and disallow it for filesystem-dax
* mappings.
*/
if (vma_is_fsdax(vma))
return -EOPNOTSUPP;
if (!(vma->vm_flags & (VM_IO | VM_PFNMAP))) { if (!(vma->vm_flags & (VM_IO | VM_PFNMAP))) {
vec->got_ref = true; vec->got_ref = true;
vec->is_pfns = false; vec->is_pfns = false;
......
Markdown is supported
0% or
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment