1. 09 Jul, 2013 1 commit
  2. 01 Jun, 2012 1 commit
  3. 21 Jan, 2011 1 commit
    • David Rientjes's avatar
      kconfig: rename CONFIG_EMBEDDED to CONFIG_EXPERT · 6a108a14
      David Rientjes authored
      The meaning of CONFIG_EMBEDDED has long since been obsoleted; the option
      is used to configure any non-standard kernel with a much larger scope than
      only small devices.
      
      This patch renames the option to CONFIG_EXPERT in init/Kconfig and fixes
      references to the option throughout the kernel.  A new CONFIG_EMBEDDED
      option is added that automatically selects CONFIG_EXPERT when enabled and
      can be used in the future to isolate options that should only be
      considered for embedded systems (RISC architectures, SLOB, etc).
      
      Calling the option "EXPERT" more accurately represents its intention: only
      expert users who understand the impact of the configuration changes they
      are making should enable it.
      Reviewed-by: default avatarIngo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
      Acked-by: default avatarDavid Woodhouse <david.woodhouse@intel.com>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarDavid Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>
      Cc: Greg KH <gregkh@suse.de>
      Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>
      Cc: Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk>
      Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
      Cc: Robin Holt <holt@sgi.com>
      Cc: <linux-arch@vger.kernel.org>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
      6a108a14
  4. 13 Jan, 2011 1 commit
    • Lasse Collin's avatar
      decompressors: add boot-time XZ support · 3ebe1243
      Lasse Collin authored
      This implements the API defined in <linux/decompress/generic.h> which is
      used for kernel, initramfs, and initrd decompression.  This patch together
      with the first patch is enough for XZ-compressed initramfs and initrd;
      XZ-compressed kernel will need arch-specific changes.
      
      The buffering requirements described in decompress_unxz.c are stricter
      than with gzip, so the relevant changes should be done to the
      arch-specific code when adding support for XZ-compressed kernel.
      Similarly, the heap size in arch-specific pre-boot code may need to be
      increased (30 KiB is enough).
      
      The XZ decompressor needs memmove(), memeq() (memcmp() == 0), and
      memzero() (memset(ptr, 0, size)), which aren't available in all
      arch-specific pre-boot environments.  I'm including simple versions in
      decompress_unxz.c, but a cleaner solution would naturally be nicer.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarLasse Collin <lasse.collin@tukaani.org>
      Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>
      Cc: Alain Knaff <alain@knaff.lu>
      Cc: Albin Tonnerre <albin.tonnerre@free-electrons.com>
      Cc: Phillip Lougher <phillip@lougher.demon.co.uk>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
      3ebe1243
  5. 23 Aug, 2010 1 commit
  6. 11 Jan, 2010 1 commit
  7. 01 Apr, 2009 1 commit
  8. 29 Mar, 2009 1 commit
  9. 28 Mar, 2009 3 commits
  10. 19 Feb, 2009 1 commit
  11. 07 Jan, 2009 1 commit
  12. 02 May, 2007 1 commit
  13. 10 Aug, 2005 1 commit