• Valentin Rothberg's avatar
    genirq: Remove the deprecated 'IRQF_DISABLED' request_irq() flag entirely · d8bf368d
    Valentin Rothberg authored
    The IRQF_DISABLED flag is a NOOP and has been scheduled for removal
    since Linux v2.6.36 by commit 6932bf37 ("genirq: Remove
    IRQF_DISABLED from core code").
    
    According to commit e58aa3d2 ("genirq: Run irq handlers with
    interrupts disabled"), running IRQ handlers with interrupts
    enabled can cause stack overflows when the interrupt line of the
    issuing device is still active.
    
    This patch ends the grace period for IRQF_DISABLED (i.e.,
    SA_INTERRUPT in older versions of Linux) and removes the
    definition and all remaining usages of this flag.
    
    There's still a few non-functional references left in the kernel
    source:
    
      - The bigger hunk in Documentation/scsi/ncr53c8xx.txt is removed entirely
        as IRQF_DISABLED is gone now; the usage in older kernel versions
        (including the old SA_INTERRUPT flag) should be discouraged.  The
        trouble of using IRQF_SHARED is a general problem and not specific to
        any driver.
    
      - I left the reference in Documentation/PCI/MSI-HOWTO.txt untouched since
        it has already been removed in linux-next.
    
      - All remaining references are changelogs that I suggest to keep.
    Signed-off-by: default avatarValentin Rothberg <valentinrothberg@gmail.com>
    Cc: Afzal Mohammed <afzal@ti.com>
    Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
    Cc: Brian Norris <computersforpeace@gmail.com>
    Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de>
    Cc: Dan Carpenter <dan.carpenter@oracle.com>
    Cc: David Woodhouse <dwmw2@infradead.org>
    Cc: Ewan Milne <emilne@redhat.com>
    Cc: Eyal Perry <eyalpe@mellanox.com>
    Cc: Felipe Balbi <balbi@ti.com>
    Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
    Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
    Cc: Hannes Reinecke <hare@suse.de>
    Cc: Hongliang Tao <taohl@lemote.com>
    Cc: Huacai Chen <chenhc@lemote.com>
    Cc: Jiri Kosina <jkosina@suse.cz>
    Cc: Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>
    Cc: Keerthy <j-keerthy@ti.com>
    Cc: Laurent Pinchart <laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com>
    Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
    Cc: Nishanth Menon <nm@ti.com>
    Cc: Paul Bolle <pebolle@tiscali.nl>
    Cc: Peter Ujfalusi <peter.ujfalusi@ti.com>
    Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
    Cc: Quentin Lambert <lambert.quentin@gmail.com>
    Cc: Rajendra Nayak <rnayak@ti.com>
    Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
    Cc: Santosh Shilimkar <santosh.shilimkar@ti.com>
    Cc: Sricharan R <r.sricharan@ti.com>
    Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
    Cc: Tony Lindgren <tony@atomide.com>
    Cc: Zhou Wang <wangzhou1@hisilicon.com>
    Cc: iss_storagedev@hp.com
    Cc: linux-mips@linux-mips.org
    Cc: linux-mtd@lists.infradead.org
    Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1425565425-12604-1-git-send-email-valentinrothberg@gmail.comSigned-off-by: default avatarIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
    d8bf368d