1. 21 Nov, 2017 1 commit
    • Kees Cook's avatar
      treewide: Switch DEFINE_TIMER callbacks to struct timer_list * · 24ed960a
      Kees Cook authored
      This changes all DEFINE_TIMER() callbacks to use a struct timer_list
      pointer instead of unsigned long. Since the data argument has already been
      removed, none of these callbacks are using their argument currently, so
      this renames the argument to "unused".
      
      Done using the following semantic patch:
      
      @match_define_timer@
      declarer name DEFINE_TIMER;
      identifier _timer, _callback;
      @@
      
       DEFINE_TIMER(_timer, _callback);
      
      @change_callback depends on match_define_timer@
      identifier match_define_timer._callback;
      type _origtype;
      identifier _origarg;
      @@
      
       void
      -_callback(_origtype _origarg)
      +_callback(struct timer_list *unused)
       { ... }
      Signed-off-by: default avatarKees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>
      24ed960a
  2. 05 Oct, 2017 1 commit
    • Kees Cook's avatar
      timer: Remove expires and data arguments from DEFINE_TIMER · 1d27e3e2
      Kees Cook authored
      Drop the arguments from the macro and adjust all callers with the
      following script:
      
        perl -pi -e 's/DEFINE_TIMER\((.*), 0, 0\);/DEFINE_TIMER($1);/g;' \
          $(git grep DEFINE_TIMER | cut -d: -f1 | sort -u | grep -v timer.h)
      Signed-off-by: default avatarKees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>
      Acked-by: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org> # for m68k parts
      Acked-by: Guenter Roeck <linux@roeck-us.net> # for watchdog parts
      Acked-by: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net> # for networking parts
      Acked-by: default avatarGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
      Acked-by: Kalle Valo <kvalo@codeaurora.org> # for wireless parts
      Acked-by: default avatarArnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
      Cc: linux-mips@linux-mips.org
      Cc: Petr Mladek <pmladek@suse.com>
      Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
      Cc: Lai Jiangshan <jiangshanlai@gmail.com>
      Cc: Sebastian Reichel <sre@kernel.org>
      Cc: Kalle Valo <kvalo@qca.qualcomm.com>
      Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
      Cc: Pavel Machek <pavel@ucw.cz>
      Cc: linux1394-devel@lists.sourceforge.net
      Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@mellanox.com>
      Cc: linux-s390@vger.kernel.org
      Cc: linux-wireless@vger.kernel.org
      Cc: "James E.J. Bottomley" <jejb@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
      Cc: Wim Van Sebroeck <wim@iguana.be>
      Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>
      Cc: Ursula Braun <ubraun@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
      Cc: Viresh Kumar <viresh.kumar@linaro.org>
      Cc: Harish Patil <harish.patil@cavium.com>
      Cc: Stephen Boyd <sboyd@codeaurora.org>
      Cc: Michael Reed <mdr@sgi.com>
      Cc: Manish Chopra <manish.chopra@cavium.com>
      Cc: Len Brown <len.brown@intel.com>
      Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
      Cc: linux-pm@vger.kernel.org
      Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>
      Cc: Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>
      Cc: Julian Wiedmann <jwi@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
      Cc: John Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org>
      Cc: Mark Gross <mark.gross@intel.com>
      Cc: linux-watchdog@vger.kernel.org
      Cc: linux-scsi@vger.kernel.org
      Cc: "Martin K. Petersen" <martin.petersen@oracle.com>
      Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
      Cc: "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@rjwysocki.net>
      Cc: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>
      Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
      Cc: Stefan Richter <stefanr@s5r6.in-berlin.de>
      Cc: Guenter Roeck <linux@roeck-us.net>
      Cc: netdev@vger.kernel.org
      Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>
      Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
      Cc: linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org
      Cc: Sudip Mukherjee <sudipm.mukherjee@gmail.com>
      Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/1507159627-127660-11-git-send-email-keescook@chromium.orgSigned-off-by: default avatarThomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
      1d27e3e2
  3. 31 Mar, 2014 1 commit
  4. 17 Nov, 2013 1 commit
    • Jean Delvare's avatar
      watchdog: Get rid of MODULE_ALIAS_MISCDEV statements · 487722cf
      Jean Delvare authored
      I just can't find any value in MODULE_ALIAS_MISCDEV(WATCHDOG_MINOR)
      and MODULE_ALIAS_MISCDEV(TEMP_MINOR) statements.
      
      Either the device is enumerated and the driver already has a module
      alias (e.g. PCI, USB etc.) that will get the right driver loaded
      automatically.
      
      Or the device is not enumerated and loading its driver will lead to
      more or less intrusive hardware poking. Such hardware poking should be
      limited to a bare minimum, so the user should really decide which
      drivers should be tried and in what order. Trying them all in
      arbitrary order can't do any good.
      
      On top of that, loading that many drivers at once bloats the kernel
      log. Also many drivers will stay loaded afterward, bloating the output
      of "lsmod" and wasting memory. Some modules (cs5535_mfgpt which gets
      loaded as a dependency) can't even be unloaded!
      
      If defining char-major-10-130 is needed then it should happen in
      user-space.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarJean Delvare <jdelvare@suse.de>
      Acked-by: default avatarGuenter Roeck <linux@roeck-us.net>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarWim Van Sebroeck <wim@iguana.be>
      Cc: Stephen Warren <swarren@wwwdotorg.org>
      Cc: Mike Frysinger <vapier.adi@gmail.com>
      Cc: Wan ZongShun <mcuos.com@gmail.com>
      Cc: Ben Dooks <ben-linux@fluff.org>
      Cc: Kukjin Kim <kgene.kim@samsung.com>
      Cc: Zwane Mwaikambo <zwane@arm.linux.org.uk>
      Cc: Jim Cromie <jim.cromie@gmail.com>
      487722cf
  5. 28 Mar, 2012 1 commit
  6. 27 Mar, 2012 2 commits
  7. 05 Nov, 2011 1 commit
  8. 25 Mar, 2009 1 commit
  9. 06 Aug, 2008 2 commits
    • Wim Van Sebroeck's avatar
      [WATCHDOG] Coding style - Indentation - part 2 · 0c06090c
      Wim Van Sebroeck authored
      This brings the watchdog drivers into line with coding style.
      This patch takes cares of the indentation as described in chapter 1.
      Main changes:
      * Re-structure the ioctl switch call for all drivers as follows:
      	switch (cmd) {
      	case WDIOC_GETSUPPORT:
      	case WDIOC_GETSTATUS:
      	case WDIOC_GETBOOTSTATUS:
      	case WDIOC_GETTEMP:
      	case WDIOC_SETOPTIONS:
      	case WDIOC_KEEPALIVE:
      	case WDIOC_SETTIMEOUT:
      	case WDIOC_GETTIMEOUT:
      	case WDIOC_GETTIMELEFT:
      	default:
      	}
      
      This to make the migration from the drivers to the uniform watchdog
      device driver easier in the future.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarWim Van Sebroeck <wim@iguana.be>
      0c06090c
    • Wim Van Sebroeck's avatar
      [WATCHDOG] Coding style - Indentation - part 1 · 5eb82498
      Wim Van Sebroeck authored
      This brings the watchdog drivers into line with coding style.
      This patch takes cares of the indentation as described in chapter 1:
        The preferred way to ease multiple indentation levels in a switch
        statement is to align the "switch" and its subordinate "case"
        labels in the same column instead of "double-indenting" the "case"
        labels.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarWim Van Sebroeck <wim@iguana.be>
      5eb82498
  10. 21 Jun, 2008 2 commits
  11. 02 Nov, 2007 1 commit
  12. 18 Oct, 2007 1 commit
  13. 24 Jul, 2007 1 commit
  14. 12 Feb, 2007 1 commit
    • Jiri Slaby's avatar
      [WATCHDOG] timers cleanup · 82eb7c50
      Jiri Slaby authored
      - Use timer macros to set function and data members and to modify
        expiration time.
      - Use DEFINE_TIMER for single (platform dependent) watchdog timers and
        do not init them at run-time in these cases.
      - del_timer_sync is common in most cases -- we want to wait for timer
        function if it's still running.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarJiri Slaby <jirislaby@gmail.com>
      Cc: Steve Hill <steve@navaho.co.uk>
      Cc: Heiko Ronsdorf <hero@ihg.uni-duisburg.de>
      Cc: Fernando Fuganti <fuganti@conectiva.com.br>
      Cc: Gergely Madarasz <gorgo@itc.hu>
      Cc: Ken Hollis <khollis@bitgate.com>
      Cc: Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarWim Van Sebroeck <wim@iguana.be>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
      82eb7c50
  15. 27 Jan, 2007 1 commit
  16. 02 Oct, 2006 1 commit
  17. 03 Jul, 2006 1 commit
  18. 31 Oct, 2005 1 commit
    • Tim Schmielau's avatar
      [PATCH] fix missing includes · 4e57b681
      Tim Schmielau authored
      I recently picked up my older work to remove unnecessary #includes of
      sched.h, starting from a patch by Dave Jones to not include sched.h
      from module.h. This reduces the number of indirect includes of sched.h
      by ~300. Another ~400 pointless direct includes can be removed after
      this disentangling (patch to follow later).
      However, quite a few indirect includes need to be fixed up for this.
      
      In order to feed the patches through -mm with as little disturbance as
      possible, I've split out the fixes I accumulated up to now (complete for
      i386 and x86_64, more archs to follow later) and post them before the real
      patch.  This way this large part of the patch is kept simple with only
      adding #includes, and all hunks are independent of each other.  So if any
      hunk rejects or gets in the way of other patches, just drop it.  My scripts
      will pick it up again in the next round.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarTim Schmielau <tim@physik3.uni-rostock.de>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@osdl.org>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@osdl.org>
      4e57b681
  19. 27 Jul, 2005 1 commit
  20. 16 Apr, 2005 1 commit
    • Linus Torvalds's avatar
      Linux-2.6.12-rc2 · 1da177e4
      Linus Torvalds authored
      Initial git repository build. I'm not bothering with the full history,
      even though we have it. We can create a separate "historical" git
      archive of that later if we want to, and in the meantime it's about
      3.2GB when imported into git - space that would just make the early
      git days unnecessarily complicated, when we don't have a lot of good
      infrastructure for it.
      
      Let it rip!
      1da177e4