Commit 7cf82f3b authored by Peter Zijlstra's avatar Peter Zijlstra Committed by Greg Kroah-Hartman

mm/tlb: Remove tlb_remove_table() non-concurrent condition

commit a6f57208 upstream.

Will noted that only checking mm_users is incorrect; we should also
check mm_count in order to cover CPUs that have a lazy reference to
this mm (and could do speculative TLB operations).

If removing this turns out to be a performance issue, we can
re-instate a more complete check, but in tlb_table_flush() eliding the
call_rcu_sched().

Fixes: 26723911 ("mm, powerpc: move the RCU page-table freeing into generic code")
Reported-by: default avatarWill Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Signed-off-by: default avatarPeter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org>
Acked-by: default avatarRik van Riel <riel@surriel.com>
Acked-by: default avatarWill Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Cc: Nicholas Piggin <npiggin@gmail.com>
Cc: David Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>
Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>
Cc: stable@kernel.org
Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: default avatarGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
parent ddcb9270
......@@ -392,15 +392,6 @@ void tlb_remove_table(struct mmu_gather *tlb, void *table)
{
struct mmu_table_batch **batch = &tlb->batch;
/*
* When there's less then two users of this mm there cannot be a
* concurrent page-table walk.
*/
if (atomic_read(&tlb->mm->mm_users) < 2) {
__tlb_remove_table(table);
return;
}
if (*batch == NULL) {
*batch = (struct mmu_table_batch *)__get_free_page(GFP_NOWAIT | __GFP_NOWARN);
if (*batch == NULL) {
......
Markdown is supported
0% or
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment