Commit 8345d546 authored by Thomas Gleixner's avatar Thomas Gleixner Committed by Greg Kroah-Hartman

x86/l1tf: Show actual SMT state

commit 130d6f94 upstream

Use the now exposed real SMT state, not the SMT sysfs control knob
state. This reflects the state of the system when the mitigation status is
queried.

This does not change the warning in the VMX launch code. There the
dependency on the control knob makes sense because siblings could be
brought online anytime after launching the VM.
Signed-off-by: default avatarThomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Reviewed-by: default avatarIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Jiri Kosina <jkosina@suse.cz>
Cc: Tom Lendacky <thomas.lendacky@amd.com>
Cc: Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com>
Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>
Cc: David Woodhouse <dwmw@amazon.co.uk>
Cc: Tim Chen <tim.c.chen@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@intel.com>
Cc: Casey Schaufler <casey.schaufler@intel.com>
Cc: Asit Mallick <asit.k.mallick@intel.com>
Cc: Arjan van de Ven <arjan@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Jon Masters <jcm@redhat.com>
Cc: Waiman Long <longman9394@gmail.com>
Cc: Greg KH <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Cc: Dave Stewart <david.c.stewart@intel.com>
Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>
Cc: stable@vger.kernel.org
Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20181125185004.613357354@linutronix.deSigned-off-by: default avatarGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
parent 36a4c5fc
......@@ -829,13 +829,14 @@ static ssize_t l1tf_show_state(char *buf)
if (l1tf_vmx_mitigation == VMENTER_L1D_FLUSH_EPT_DISABLED ||
(l1tf_vmx_mitigation == VMENTER_L1D_FLUSH_NEVER &&
cpu_smt_control == CPU_SMT_ENABLED))
sched_smt_active())) {
return sprintf(buf, "%s; VMX: %s\n", L1TF_DEFAULT_MSG,
l1tf_vmx_states[l1tf_vmx_mitigation]);
}
return sprintf(buf, "%s; VMX: %s, SMT %s\n", L1TF_DEFAULT_MSG,
l1tf_vmx_states[l1tf_vmx_mitigation],
cpu_smt_control == CPU_SMT_ENABLED ? "vulnerable" : "disabled");
sched_smt_active() ? "vulnerable" : "disabled");
}
#else
static ssize_t l1tf_show_state(char *buf)
......
Markdown is supported
0% or .
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment