Commit daa460a8 authored by Josh Poimboeuf's avatar Josh Poimboeuf Committed by Ingo Molnar

ftrace: Only allocate the ret_stack 'fp' field when needed

This saves some memory when HAVE_FUNCTION_GRAPH_FP_TEST isn't defined.
On x86_64 with newer versions of gcc which have -mfentry, it saves 400
bytes per task.
Signed-off-by: default avatarJosh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com>
Acked-by: default avatarSteven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@amacapital.net>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
Cc: Brian Gerst <brgerst@gmail.com>
Cc: Byungchul Park <byungchul.park@lge.com>
Cc: Denys Vlasenko <dvlasenk@redhat.com>
Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Nilay Vaish <nilayvaish@gmail.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/5c7747d9ea7b5cb47ef0a8ce8a6cea6bf7aa94bf.1471607358.git.jpoimboe@redhat.comSigned-off-by: default avatarIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
parent e4a744ef
......@@ -795,7 +795,9 @@ struct ftrace_ret_stack {
unsigned long func;
unsigned long long calltime;
unsigned long long subtime;
#ifdef HAVE_FUNCTION_GRAPH_FP_TEST
unsigned long fp;
#endif
};
/*
......
......@@ -171,7 +171,9 @@ ftrace_push_return_trace(unsigned long ret, unsigned long func, int *depth,
current->ret_stack[index].func = func;
current->ret_stack[index].calltime = calltime;
current->ret_stack[index].subtime = 0;
#ifdef HAVE_FUNCTION_GRAPH_FP_TEST
current->ret_stack[index].fp = frame_pointer;
#endif
*depth = current->curr_ret_stack;
return 0;
......
Markdown is supported
0% or .
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment