1. 09 Sep, 2016 1 commit
    • Nicholas Piggin's avatar
      kbuild: allow archs to select link dead code/data elimination · b67067f1
      Nicholas Piggin authored
      Introduce LD_DEAD_CODE_DATA_ELIMINATION option for architectures to
      select to build with -ffunction-sections, -fdata-sections, and link
      with --gc-sections. It requires some work (documented) to ensure all
      unreferenced entrypoints are live, and requires toolchain and build
      verification, so it is made a per-arch option for now.
      
      On a random powerpc64le build, this yelds a significant size saving,
      it boots and runs fine, but there is a lot I haven't tested as yet, so
      these savings may be reduced if there are bugs in the link.
      
          text      data        bss        dec   filename
      11169741   1180744    1923176	14273661   vmlinux
      10445269   1004127    1919707	13369103   vmlinux.dce
      
      ~700K text, ~170K data, 6% removed from kernel image size.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarNicholas Piggin <npiggin@gmail.com>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarMichal Marek <mmarek@suse.com>
      b67067f1
  2. 05 May, 2012 2 commits
    • Thomas Gleixner's avatar
      init_task: Replace CONFIG_HAVE_GENERIC_INIT_TASK · a6359d1e
      Thomas Gleixner authored
      Now that all archs except ia64 are converted, replace the config and
      let the ia64 select CONFIG_ARCH_INIT_TASK
      Signed-off-by: default avatarThomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
      Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20120503085035.867948914@linutronix.de
      a6359d1e
    • Thomas Gleixner's avatar
      init_task: Create generic init_task instance · a4a2eb49
      Thomas Gleixner authored
      All archs define init_task in the same way (except ia64, but there is
      no particular reason why ia64 cannot use the common version). Create a
      generic instance so all archs can be converted over.
      
      The config switch is temporary and will be removed when all archs are
      converted over.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarThomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
      Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
      Cc: Chen Liqin <liqin.chen@sunplusct.com>
      Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com>
      Cc: Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net>
      Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>
      Cc: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
      Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>
      Cc: Guan Xuetao <gxt@mprc.pku.edu.cn>
      Cc: Haavard Skinnemoen <hskinnemoen@gmail.com>
      Cc: Hirokazu Takata <takata@linux-m32r.org>
      Cc: James E.J. Bottomley <jejb@parisc-linux.org>
      Cc: Jesper Nilsson <jesper.nilsson@axis.com>
      Cc: Jonas Bonn <jonas@southpole.se>
      Cc: Mark Salter <msalter@redhat.com>
      Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>
      Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>
      Cc: Matt Turner <mattst88@gmail.com>
      Cc: Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu>
      Cc: Mike Frysinger <vapier@gentoo.org>
      Cc: Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org>
      Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
      Cc: Richard Kuo <rkuo@codeaurora.org>
      Cc: Richard Weinberger <richard@nod.at>
      Cc: Russell King <linux@arm.linux.org.uk>
      Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp>
      Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20120503085034.092585287@linutronix.de
      a4a2eb49
  3. 12 Dec, 2009 1 commit
  4. 16 Oct, 2008 2 commits
  5. 11 Feb, 2008 1 commit
    • Sam Ravnborg's avatar
      kbuild: fix make V=1 · fab1e310
      Sam Ravnborg authored
      When make -s support were added to filechk to
      combination created with make V=1 were not
      covered.
      Fix it by explicitly cover this case too.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarSam Ravnborg <sam@ravnborg.org>
      Cc: Mike Frysinger <vapier@gentoo.org>
      fab1e310
  6. 09 Feb, 2008 1 commit
  7. 14 Oct, 2007 1 commit
    • Sam Ravnborg's avatar
      kbuild: enable 'make CFLAGS=...' to add additional options to CC · a0f97e06
      Sam Ravnborg authored
      The variable CFLAGS is a wellknown variable and the usage by
      kbuild may result in unexpected behaviour.
      On top of that several people over time has asked for a way to
      pass in additional flags to gcc.
      
      This patch replace use of CFLAGS with KBUILD_CFLAGS all over the
      tree and enabling one to use:
      make CFLAGS=...
      to specify additional gcc commandline options.
      
      One usecase is when trying to find gcc bugs but other
      use cases has been requested too.
      
      Patch was tested on following architectures:
      alpha, arm, i386, x86_64, mips, sparc, sparc64, ia64, m68k
      
      Test was simple to do a defconfig build, apply the patch and check
      that nothing got rebuild.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarSam Ravnborg <sam@ravnborg.org>
      a0f97e06
  8. 11 Feb, 2007 1 commit
    • Jean-Paul Saman's avatar
      [PATCH] disable init/initramfs.c · c33df4ea
      Jean-Paul Saman authored
      The file init/initramfs.c is always compiled and linked in the kernel
      vmlinux even when BLK_DEV_RAM and BLK_DEV_INITRD are disabled and the
      system isn't using any form of an initramfs or initrd.  In this situation
      the code is only used to unpack a (static) default initial rootfilesystem.
      The current init/initramfs.c code.  usr/initramfs_data.o compiles to a size
      of ~15 kbytes.  Disabling BLK_DEV_RAM and BLK_DEV_INTRD shrinks the kernel
      code size with ~60 Kbytes.
      
      This patch avoids compiling in the code and data for initramfs support if
      CONFIG_BLK_DEV_INITRD is not defined.  Instead of the initramfs code and
      data it uses a small routine in init/noinitramfs.c to setup an initial
      static default environment for mounting a rootfilesystem later on in the
      kernel initialisation process.  The new code is: 164 bytes of size.
      
      The patch is separated in two parts:
      1) doesn't compile initramfs code when CONFIG_BLK_DEV_INITRD is not set
      2) changing all plaforms vmlinux.lds.S files to not reserve an area of
      PAGE_SIZE when CONFIG_BLK_DEV_INITRD is not set.
      
      [deweerdt@free.fr: warning fix]
      Signed-off-by: default avatarJean-Paul Saman <jean-paul.saman@nxp.com>
      Cc: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
      Cc: <linux-arch@vger.kernel.org>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarFrederik Deweerdt <frederik.deweerdt@gmail.com>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
      c33df4ea
  9. 10 Jan, 2007 1 commit
  10. 22 Dec, 2006 1 commit
    • Andrew Morton's avatar
      [PATCH] build compile.h earlier · ef129412
      Andrew Morton authored
      compile.h is created super-late in the build.  But proc_misc.c want to include
      it, and it's generally not sane to have a header file in include/linux be
      created at the end of the build: it's either not present or, worse, wrong for
      most of the build.
      
      So the patch arranges for compile.h to be built at the start of the build
      process.  It also consolidates the compile.h rules with those for version.h
      and utsname.h, so they all get built together.
      
      I hope.  My chances of having got this right are about 2%.
      
      Cc: Sam Ravnborg <sam@ravnborg.org>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@osdl.org>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@osdl.org>
      ef129412
  11. 08 Dec, 2006 1 commit
  12. 26 Jun, 2006 1 commit
  13. 14 Jul, 2005 1 commit
  14. 16 Apr, 2005 1 commit
    • Linus Torvalds's avatar
      Linux-2.6.12-rc2 · 1da177e4
      Linus Torvalds authored
      Initial git repository build. I'm not bothering with the full history,
      even though we have it. We can create a separate "historical" git
      archive of that later if we want to, and in the meantime it's about
      3.2GB when imported into git - space that would just make the early
      git days unnecessarily complicated, when we don't have a lot of good
      infrastructure for it.
      
      Let it rip!
      1da177e4