• Peter Zijlstra's avatar
    locking/lockdep: Rework FS_RECLAIM annotation · d92a8cfc
    Peter Zijlstra authored
    A while ago someone, and I cannot find the email just now, asked if we
    could not implement the RECLAIM_FS inversion stuff with a 'fake' lock
    like we use for other things like workqueues etc. I think this should
    be possible which allows reducing the 'irq' states and will reduce the
    amount of __bfs() lookups we do.
    
    Removing the 1 IRQ state results in 4 less __bfs() walks per
    dependency, improving lockdep performance. And by moving this
    annotation out of the lockdep code it becomes easier for the mm people
    to extend.
    Signed-off-by: 's avatarPeter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org>
    Cc: Byungchul Park <byungchul.park@lge.com>
    Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
    Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
    Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@kernel.org>
    Cc: Nikolay Borisov <nborisov@suse.com>
    Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
    Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
    Cc: akpm@linux-foundation.org
    Cc: boqun.feng@gmail.com
    Cc: iamjoonsoo.kim@lge.com
    Cc: kernel-team@lge.com
    Cc: kirill@shutemov.name
    Cc: npiggin@gmail.com
    Cc: walken@google.com
    Signed-off-by: 's avatarIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
    d92a8cfc