Commit 11e33f6a authored by Mel Gorman's avatar Mel Gorman Committed by Linus Torvalds

page allocator: break up the allocator entry point into fast and slow paths

The core of the page allocator is one giant function which allocates
memory on the stack and makes calculations that may not be needed for
every allocation.  This patch breaks up the allocator path into fast and
slow paths for clarity.  Note the slow paths are still inlined but the
entry is marked unlikely.  If they were not inlined, it actally increases
text size to generate the as there is only one call site.
Signed-off-by: default avatarMel Gorman <mel@csn.ul.ie>
Reviewed-by: default avatarChristoph Lameter <cl@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: KOSAKI Motohiro <kosaki.motohiro@jp.fujitsu.com>
Cc: Pekka Enberg <penberg@cs.helsinki.fi>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
Cc: Nick Piggin <nickpiggin@yahoo.com.au>
Cc: Dave Hansen <dave@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Lee Schermerhorn <Lee.Schermerhorn@hp.com>
Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
parent 7f82af97
This diff is collapsed.
Markdown is supported
0% or
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment