Commit 49255c61 authored by Mel Gorman's avatar Mel Gorman Committed by Linus Torvalds

page allocator: move check for disabled anti-fragmentation out of fastpath

On low-memory systems, anti-fragmentation gets disabled as there is
nothing it can do and it would just incur overhead shuffling pages between
lists constantly.  Currently the check is made in the free page fast path
for every page.  This patch moves it to a slow path.  On machines with low
memory, there will be small amount of additional overhead as pages get
shuffled between lists but it should quickly settle.
Signed-off-by: 's avatarMel Gorman <mel@csn.ul.ie>
Reviewed-by: 's avatarChristoph Lameter <cl@linux-foundation.org>
Reviewed-by: 's avatarKOSAKI Motohiro <kosaki.motohiro@jp.fujitsu.com>
Cc: Pekka Enberg <penberg@cs.helsinki.fi>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
Cc: Nick Piggin <nickpiggin@yahoo.com.au>
Cc: Dave Hansen <dave@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Lee Schermerhorn <Lee.Schermerhorn@hp.com>
Signed-off-by: 's avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: 's avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
parent 11e33f6a
......@@ -50,9 +50,6 @@ extern int page_group_by_mobility_disabled;
static inline int get_pageblock_migratetype(struct page *page)
{
if (unlikely(page_group_by_mobility_disabled))
return MIGRATE_UNMOVABLE;
return get_pageblock_flags_group(page, PB_migrate, PB_migrate_end);
}
......
......@@ -168,6 +168,10 @@ int page_group_by_mobility_disabled __read_mostly;
static void set_pageblock_migratetype(struct page *page, int migratetype)
{
if (unlikely(page_group_by_mobility_disabled))
migratetype = MIGRATE_UNMOVABLE;
set_pageblock_flags_group(page, (unsigned long)migratetype,
PB_migrate, PB_migrate_end);
}
......
Markdown is supported
0% or
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment