1. 01 Jul, 2009 1 commit
  2. 28 Apr, 2008 1 commit
  3. 04 Dec, 2007 7 commits
  4. 02 Nov, 2007 1 commit
  5. 18 Oct, 2007 1 commit
  6. 17 Oct, 2007 1 commit
  7. 16 Jul, 2007 1 commit
  8. 21 May, 2007 1 commit
    • Alexey Dobriyan's avatar
      Detach sched.h from mm.h · e8edc6e0
      Alexey Dobriyan authored
      First thing mm.h does is including sched.h solely for can_do_mlock() inline
      function which has "current" dereference inside. By dealing with can_do_mlock()
      mm.h can be detached from sched.h which is good. See below, why.
      
      This patch
      a) removes unconditional inclusion of sched.h from mm.h
      b) makes can_do_mlock() normal function in mm/mlock.c
      c) exports can_do_mlock() to not break compilation
      d) adds sched.h inclusions back to files that were getting it indirectly.
      e) adds less bloated headers to some files (asm/signal.h, jiffies.h) that were
         getting them indirectly
      
      Net result is:
      a) mm.h users would get less code to open, read, preprocess, parse, ... if
         they don't need sched.h
      b) sched.h stops being dependency for significant number of files:
         on x86_64 allmodconfig touching sched.h results in recompile of 4083 files,
         after patch it's only 3744 (-8.3%).
      
      Cross-compile tested on
      
      	all arm defconfigs, all mips defconfigs, all powerpc defconfigs,
      	alpha alpha-up
      	arm
      	i386 i386-up i386-defconfig i386-allnoconfig
      	ia64 ia64-up
      	m68k
      	mips
      	parisc parisc-up
      	powerpc powerpc-up
      	s390 s390-up
      	sparc sparc-up
      	sparc64 sparc64-up
      	um-x86_64
      	x86_64 x86_64-up x86_64-defconfig x86_64-allnoconfig
      
      as well as my two usual configs.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarAlexey Dobriyan <adobriyan@gmail.com>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
      e8edc6e0
  9. 27 Apr, 2007 1 commit
  10. 09 Feb, 2007 1 commit
    • Tejun Heo's avatar
      devres: device resource management · 9ac7849e
      Tejun Heo authored
      Implement device resource management, in short, devres.  A device
      driver can allocate arbirary size of devres data which is associated
      with a release function.  On driver detach, release function is
      invoked on the devres data, then, devres data is freed.
      
      devreses are typed by associated release functions.  Some devreses are
      better represented by single instance of the type while others need
      multiple instances sharing the same release function.  Both usages are
      supported.
      
      devreses can be grouped using devres group such that a device driver
      can easily release acquired resources halfway through initialization
      or selectively release resources (e.g. resources for port 1 out of 4
      ports).
      
      This patch adds devres core including documentation and the following
      managed interfaces.
      
      * alloc/free	: devm_kzalloc(), devm_kzfree()
      * IO region	: devm_request_region(), devm_release_region()
      * IRQ		: devm_request_irq(), devm_free_irq()
      * DMA		: dmam_alloc_coherent(), dmam_free_coherent(),
      		  dmam_declare_coherent_memory(), dmam_pool_create(),
      		  dmam_pool_destroy()
      * PCI		: pcim_enable_device(), pcim_pin_device(), pci_is_managed()
      * iomap		: devm_ioport_map(), devm_ioport_unmap(), devm_ioremap(),
      		  devm_ioremap_nocache(), devm_iounmap(), pcim_iomap_table(),
      		  pcim_iomap(), pcim_iounmap()
      Signed-off-by: default avatarTejun Heo <htejun@gmail.com>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarJeff Garzik <jeff@garzik.org>
      9ac7849e
  11. 13 Dec, 2006 1 commit
    • Robert P. J. Day's avatar
      [PATCH] getting rid of all casts of k[cmz]alloc() calls · 5cbded58
      Robert P. J. Day authored
      Run this:
      
      	#!/bin/sh
      	for f in $(grep -Erl "\([^\)]*\) *k[cmz]alloc" *) ; do
      	  echo "De-casting $f..."
      	  perl -pi -e "s/ ?= ?\([^\)]*\) *(k[cmz]alloc) *\(/ = \1\(/" $f
      	done
      
      And then go through and reinstate those cases where code is casting pointers
      to non-pointers.
      
      And then drop a few hunks which conflicted with outstanding work.
      
      Cc: Russell King <rmk@arm.linux.org.uk>, Ian Molton <spyro@f2s.com>
      Cc: Mikael Starvik <starvik@axis.com>
      Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp>
      Cc: Roman Zippel <zippel@linux-m68k.org>
      Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>
      Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
      Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
      Cc: Kyle McMartin <kyle@mcmartin.ca>
      Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
      Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>
      Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>
      Cc: Jeff Dike <jdike@addtoit.com>
      Cc: Greg KH <greg@kroah.com>
      Cc: Jens Axboe <jens.axboe@oracle.com>
      Cc: Paul Fulghum <paulkf@microgate.com>
      Cc: Alan Cox <alan@lxorguk.ukuu.org.uk>
      Cc: Karsten Keil <kkeil@suse.de>
      Cc: Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab@infradead.org>
      Cc: Jeff Garzik <jeff@garzik.org>
      Cc: James Bottomley <James.Bottomley@steeleye.com>
      Cc: Ian Kent <raven@themaw.net>
      Cc: Steven French <sfrench@us.ibm.com>
      Cc: David Woodhouse <dwmw2@infradead.org>
      Cc: Neil Brown <neilb@cse.unsw.edu.au>
      Cc: Jaroslav Kysela <perex@suse.cz>
      Cc: Takashi Iwai <tiwai@suse.de>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@osdl.org>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@osdl.org>
      5cbded58
  12. 07 Dec, 2006 2 commits
  13. 18 Oct, 2006 1 commit
  14. 28 Jun, 2006 1 commit
  15. 08 Oct, 2005 1 commit
  16. 10 Sep, 2005 1 commit
  17. 20 Jun, 2005 1 commit
  18. 16 Apr, 2005 1 commit
    • Linus Torvalds's avatar
      Linux-2.6.12-rc2 · 1da177e4
      Linus Torvalds authored
      Initial git repository build. I'm not bothering with the full history,
      even though we have it. We can create a separate "historical" git
      archive of that later if we want to, and in the meantime it's about
      3.2GB when imported into git - space that would just make the early
      git days unnecessarily complicated, when we don't have a lot of good
      infrastructure for it.
      
      Let it rip!
      1da177e4