Commit 18e589f6 authored by John Stultz's avatar John Stultz Committed by Greg Kroah-Hartman

selftest: timers: Tweak raw_skew to SKIP when ADJ_OFFSET/other clock adjustments are in progress

[ Upstream commit 1416270f4a1ae83ea84156ceba19a66a8f88be1f ]

In the past we've warned when ADJ_OFFSET was in progress, usually
caused by ntpd or some other time adjusting daemon running in non
steady sate, which can cause the skew calculations to be
incorrect.

Thus, this patch checks to see if the clock was being adjusted
when we fail so that we don't cause false negatives.

Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Cc: Miroslav Lichvar <mlichvar@redhat.com>
Cc: Richard Cochran <richardcochran@gmail.com>
Cc: Prarit Bhargava <prarit@redhat.com>
Cc: Stephen Boyd <sboyd@kernel.org>
Cc: Shuah Khan <shuah@kernel.org>
Cc: linux-kselftest@vger.kernel.org
Suggested-by: default avatarMiroslav Lichvar <mlichvar@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: default avatarJohn Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org>
Signed-off-by: default avatarGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
parent 7b07e3d9
......@@ -146,6 +146,11 @@ int main(int argv, char **argc)
printf(" %lld.%i(act)", ppm/1000, abs((int)(ppm%1000)));
if (llabs(eppm - ppm) > 1000) {
if (tx1.offset || tx2.offset ||
tx1.freq != tx2.freq || tx1.tick != tx2.tick) {
printf(" [SKIP]\n");
return ksft_exit_skip("The clock was adjusted externally. Shutdown NTPd or other time sync daemons\n");
}
printf(" [FAILED]\n");
return ksft_exit_fail();
}
......
Markdown is supported
0% or
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment