Commit cf7492e9 authored by Jan Kiszka's avatar Jan Kiszka Committed by Linus Torvalds

scripts/gdb: add internal helper and convenience function to retrieve thread_info

Add the internal helper get_thread_info that calculates the thread_info
from a given task variable.  Also export this service as a convenience
function.

Note: ia64 version is untested.
Signed-off-by: Jan Kiszka's avatarJan Kiszka <jan.kiszka@siemens.com>
Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>
Cc: Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Jason Wessel <jason.wessel@windriver.com>
Cc: Andi Kleen <andi@firstfloor.org>
Cc: Ben Widawsky <ben@bwidawsk.net>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>
Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
parent b24e2d21
......@@ -71,3 +71,38 @@ return that task_struct variable which PID matches."""
LxTaskByPidFunc()
thread_info_type = utils.CachedType("struct thread_info")
ia64_task_size = None
def get_thread_info(task):
global thread_info_type
thread_info_ptr_type = thread_info_type.get_type().pointer()
if utils.is_target_arch("ia64"):
global ia64_task_size
if ia64_task_size is None:
ia64_task_size = gdb.parse_and_eval("sizeof(struct task_struct)")
thread_info_addr = task.address + ia64_task_size
thread_info = thread_info_addr.cast(thread_info_ptr_type)
else:
thread_info = task['stack'].cast(thread_info_ptr_type)
return thread_info.dereference()
class LxThreadInfoFunc (gdb.Function):
"""Calculate Linux thread_info from task variable.
$lx_thread_info(TASK): Given TASK, return the corresponding thread_info
variable."""
def __init__(self):
super(LxThreadInfoFunc, self).__init__("lx_thread_info")
def invoke(self, task):
return get_thread_info(task)
LxThreadInfoFunc()
Markdown is supported
0% or
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment