1. 10 Nov, 2018 1 commit
  2. 20 Oct, 2018 1 commit
    • Yu Zhao's avatar
      net/usb: cancel pending work when unbinding smsc75xx · 0aa059ea
      Yu Zhao authored
      [ Upstream commit f7b2a56e1f3dcbdb4cf09b2b63e859ffe0e09df8 ]
      
      Cancel pending work before freeing smsc75xx private data structure
      during binding. This fixes the following crash in the driver:
      
      BUG: unable to handle kernel NULL pointer dereference at 0000000000000050
      IP: mutex_lock+0x2b/0x3f
      <snipped>
      Workqueue: events smsc75xx_deferred_multicast_write [smsc75xx]
      task: ffff8caa83e85700 task.stack: ffff948b80518000
      RIP: 0010:mutex_lock+0x2b/0x3f
      <snipped>
      Call Trace:
       smsc75xx_deferred_multicast_write+0x40/0x1af [smsc75xx]
       process_one_work+0x18d/0x2fc
       worker_thread+0x1a2/0x269
       ? pr_cont_work+0x58/0x58
       kthread+0xfa/0x10a
       ? pr_cont_work+0x58/0x58
       ? rcu_read_unlock_sched_notrace+0x48/0x48
       ret_from_fork+0x22/0x40
      Signed-off-by: default avatarYu Zhao <yuzhao@google.com>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarDavid S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
      0aa059ea
  3. 24 Aug, 2018 1 commit
  4. 30 May, 2018 1 commit
  5. 17 Jan, 2018 1 commit
  6. 22 Sep, 2015 1 commit
  7. 17 Feb, 2014 1 commit
    • Emil Goode's avatar
      usbnet: remove generic hard_header_len check · eb85569f
      Emil Goode authored
      This patch removes a generic hard_header_len check from the usbnet
      module that is causing dropped packages under certain circumstances
      for devices that send rx packets that cross urb boundaries.
      
      One example is the AX88772B which occasionally send rx packets that
      cross urb boundaries where the remaining partial packet is sent with
      no hardware header. When the buffer with a partial packet is of less
      number of octets than the value of hard_header_len the buffer is
      discarded by the usbnet module.
      
      With AX88772B this can be reproduced by using ping with a packet
      size between 1965-1976.
      
      The bug has been reported here:
      
      https://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=29082
      
      This patch introduces the following changes:
      - Removes the generic hard_header_len check in the rx_complete
        function in the usbnet module.
      - Introduces a ETH_HLEN check for skbs that are not cloned from
        within a rx_fixup callback.
      - For safety a hard_header_len check is added to each rx_fixup
        callback function that could be affected by this change.
        These extra checks could possibly be removed by someone
        who has the hardware to test.
      - Removes a call to dev_kfree_skb_any() and instead utilizes the
        dev->done list to queue skbs for cleanup.
      
      The changes place full responsibility on the rx_fixup callback
      functions that clone skbs to only pass valid skbs to the
      usbnet_skb_return function.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarEmil Goode <emilgoode@gmail.com>
      Reported-by: default avatarIgor Gnatenko <i.gnatenko.brain@gmail.com>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarDavid S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
      eb85569f
  8. 16 Jan, 2014 1 commit
  9. 06 Dec, 2013 1 commit
  10. 26 Jul, 2013 1 commit
    • Eric Dumazet's avatar
      usbnet: do not pretend to support SG/TSO · 20f01703
      Eric Dumazet authored
      usbnet doesn't support yet SG, so drivers should not advertise SG or TSO
      capabilities, as they allow TCP stack to build large TSO packets that
      need to be linearized and might use order-5 pages.
      
      This adds an extra copy overhead and possible allocation failures.
      
      Current code ignore skb_linearize() return code so crashes are even
      possible.
      
      Best is to not pretend SG/TSO is supported, and add this again when/if
      usbnet really supports SG for devices who could get a performance gain.
      
      Based on a prior patch from Freddy Xin <freddy@asix.com.tw>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarEric Dumazet <edumazet@google.com>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarDavid S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
      20f01703
  11. 29 Mar, 2013 1 commit
  12. 25 Mar, 2013 1 commit
  13. 04 Feb, 2013 1 commit
  14. 10 Dec, 2012 1 commit
  15. 30 Nov, 2012 2 commits
  16. 28 Nov, 2012 6 commits
  17. 25 Nov, 2012 1 commit
  18. 07 Nov, 2012 1 commit
  19. 03 Nov, 2012 1 commit
  20. 26 Oct, 2012 1 commit
  21. 28 Sep, 2012 3 commits
  22. 27 Sep, 2012 1 commit
  23. 17 Jul, 2012 2 commits
  24. 18 May, 2012 1 commit
    • Sarah Sharp's avatar
      USB: Disable hub-initiated LPM for comms devices. · e1f12eb6
      Sarah Sharp authored
      Hub-initiated LPM is not good for USB communications devices.  Comms
      devices should be able to tell when their link can go into a lower power
      state, because they know when an incoming transmission is finished.
      Ideally, these devices would slam their links into a lower power state,
      using the device-initiated LPM, after finishing the last packet of their
      data transfer.
      
      If we enable the idle timeouts for the parent hubs to enable
      hub-initiated LPM, we will get a lot of useless LPM packets on the bus
      as the devices reject LPM transitions when they're in the middle of
      receiving data.  Worse, some devices might blindly accept the
      hub-initiated LPM and power down their radios while they're in the
      middle of receiving a transmission.
      
      The Intel Windows folks are disabling hub-initiated LPM for all USB
      communications devices under a xHCI USB 3.0 host.  In order to keep
      the Linux behavior as close as possible to Windows, we need to do the
      same in Linux.
      
      Set the disable_hub_initiated_lpm flag for for all USB communications
      drivers.  I know there aren't currently any USB 3.0 devices that
      implement these class specifications, but we should be ready if they do.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarSarah Sharp <sarah.a.sharp@linux.intel.com>
      Cc: Marcel Holtmann <marcel@holtmann.org>
      Cc: Gustavo Padovan <gustavo@padovan.org>
      Cc: Johan Hedberg <johan.hedberg@gmail.com>
      Cc: Hansjoerg Lipp <hjlipp@web.de>
      Cc: Tilman Schmidt <tilman@imap.cc>
      Cc: Karsten Keil <isdn@linux-pingi.de>
      Cc: Peter Korsgaard <jacmet@sunsite.dk>
      Cc: Jan Dumon <j.dumon@option.com>
      Cc: Petko Manolov <petkan@users.sourceforge.net>
      Cc: Steve Glendinning <steve.glendinning@smsc.com>
      Cc: "John W. Linville" <linville@tuxdriver.com>
      Cc: Kalle Valo <kvalo@qca.qualcomm.com>
      Cc: "Luis R. Rodriguez" <mcgrof@qca.qualcomm.com>
      Cc: Jouni Malinen <jouni@qca.qualcomm.com>
      Cc: Vasanthakumar Thiagarajan <vthiagar@qca.qualcomm.com>
      Cc: Senthil Balasubramanian <senthilb@qca.qualcomm.com>
      Cc: Christian Lamparter <chunkeey@googlemail.com>
      Cc: Brett Rudley <brudley@broadcom.com>
      Cc: Roland Vossen <rvossen@broadcom.com>
      Cc: Arend van Spriel <arend@broadcom.com>
      Cc: "Franky (Zhenhui) Lin" <frankyl@broadcom.com>
      Cc: Kan Yan <kanyan@broadcom.com>
      Cc: Dan Williams <dcbw@redhat.com>
      Cc: Jussi Kivilinna <jussi.kivilinna@mbnet.fi>
      Cc: Ivo van Doorn <IvDoorn@gmail.com>
      Cc: Gertjan van Wingerde <gwingerde@gmail.com>
      Cc: Helmut Schaa <helmut.schaa@googlemail.com>
      Cc: Herton Ronaldo Krzesinski <herton@canonical.com>
      Cc: Hin-Tak Leung <htl10@users.sourceforge.net>
      Cc: Larry Finger <Larry.Finger@lwfinger.net>
      Cc: Chaoming Li <chaoming_li@realsil.com.cn>
      Cc: Daniel Drake <dsd@gentoo.org>
      Cc: Ulrich Kunitz <kune@deine-taler.de>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarSarah Sharp <sarah.a.sharp@linux.intel.com>
      e1f12eb6
  25. 08 May, 2012 3 commits
  26. 01 May, 2012 4 commits