1. 19 May, 2017 1 commit
    • Olof Johansson's avatar
      devicetree: Move include prefixes from arch to separate directory · d5d332d3
      Olof Johansson authored
      We use a directory under arch/$ARCH/boot/dts as an include path
      that has links outside of the subtree to find dt-bindings from under
      include/dt-bindings. That's been working well, but new DT architectures
      haven't been adding them by default.
      
      Recently there's been a desire to share some of the DT material between
      arm and arm64, which originally caused developers to create symlinks or
      relative includes between the subtrees. This isn't ideal -- it breaks
      if the DT files aren't stored in the exact same hierarchy as the kernel
      tree, and generally it's just icky.
      
      As a somewhat cleaner solution we decided to add a $ARCH/ prefix link
      once, and allow DTS files to reference dtsi (and dts) files in other
      architectures that way.
      
      Original approach was to create these links under each architecture,
      but it lead to the problem of recursive symlinks.
      
      As a remedy, move the include link directories out of the architecture
      trees into a common location. At the same time, they can now share one
      directory and one dt-bindings/ link as well.
      
      Fixes: 4027494a ('ARM: dts: add arm/arm64 include symlinks')
      Reported-by: default avatarRussell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk>
      Reported-by: default avatarOmar Sandoval <osandov@osandov.com>
      Reviewed-by: default avatarHeiko Stuebner <heiko@sntech.de>
      Reviewed-by: Masahiro Yamada's avatarMasahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@socionext.com>
      Tested-by: default avatarHeiko Stuebner <heiko@sntech.de>
      Acked-by: default avatarRob Herring <robh@kernel.org>
      Cc: Heiko Stuebner <heiko@sntech.de>
      Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
      Cc: Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk>
      Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
      Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
      Cc: Mikael Starvik <starvik@axis.com>
      Cc: Jesper Nilsson <jesper.nilsson@axis.com>
      Cc: James Hogan <james.hogan@imgtec.com>
      Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
      Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
      Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
      Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>
      Cc: Frank Rowand <frowand.list@gmail.com>
      Cc: linux-arch <linux-arch@vger.kernel.org>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarOlof Johansson <olof@lixom.net>
      d5d332d3