1. 21 Dec, 2015 1 commit
    • David Woods's avatar
      arm64: hugetlb: add support for PTE contiguous bit · 66b3923a
      David Woods authored
      The arm64 MMU supports a Contiguous bit which is a hint that the TTE
      is one of a set of contiguous entries which can be cached in a single
      TLB entry.  Supporting this bit adds new intermediate huge page sizes.
      
      The set of huge page sizes available depends on the base page size.
      Without using contiguous pages the huge page sizes are as follows.
      
       4KB:   2MB  1GB
      64KB: 512MB
      
      With a 4KB granule, the contiguous bit groups together sets of 16 pages
      and with a 64KB granule it groups sets of 32 pages.  This enables two new
      huge page sizes in each case, so that the full set of available sizes
      is as follows.
      
       4KB:  64KB   2MB  32MB  1GB
      64KB:   2MB 512MB  16GB
      
      If a 16KB granule is used then the contiguous bit groups 128 pages
      at the PTE level and 32 pages at the PMD level.
      
      If the base page size is set to 64KB then 2MB pages are enabled by
      default.  It is possible in the future to make 2MB the default huge
      page size for both 4KB and 64KB granules.
      Reviewed-by: default avatarChris Metcalf <cmetcalf@ezchip.com>
      Reviewed-by: default avatarSteve Capper <steve.capper@linaro.org>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarDavid Woods <dwoods@ezchip.com>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarWill Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
      66b3923a
  2. 27 Jul, 2015 1 commit
  3. 26 Jun, 2015 1 commit
  4. 25 Jun, 2015 1 commit
  5. 14 Jun, 2013 1 commit
    • Steve Capper's avatar
      ARM64: mm: HugeTLB support. · 084bd298
      Steve Capper authored
      Add huge page support to ARM64, different huge page sizes are
      supported depending on the size of normal pages:
      
      PAGE_SIZE is 4KB:
         2MB - (pmds) these can be allocated at any time.
      1024MB - (puds) usually allocated on bootup with the command line
               with something like: hugepagesz=1G hugepages=6
      
      PAGE_SIZE is 64KB:
       512MB - (pmds) usually allocated on bootup via command line.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarSteve Capper <steve.capper@linaro.org>
      Acked-by: default avatarCatalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
      084bd298
  6. 29 Apr, 2013 1 commit
    • Gerald Schaefer's avatar
      mm/hugetlb: add more arch-defined huge_pte functions · 106c992a
      Gerald Schaefer authored
      Commit abf09bed ("s390/mm: implement software dirty bits")
      introduced another difference in the pte layout vs.  the pmd layout on
      s390, thoroughly breaking the s390 support for hugetlbfs.  This requires
      replacing some more pte_xxx functions in mm/hugetlbfs.c with a
      huge_pte_xxx version.
      
      This patch introduces those huge_pte_xxx functions and their generic
      implementation in asm-generic/hugetlb.h, which will now be included on
      all architectures supporting hugetlbfs apart from s390.  This change
      will be a no-op for those architectures.
      
      [akpm@linux-foundation.org: fix warning]
      Signed-off-by: default avatarGerald Schaefer <gerald.schaefer@de.ibm.com>
      Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
      Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>
      Cc: Hillf Danton <dhillf@gmail.com>
      Acked-by: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.cz>	[for !s390 parts]
      Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>
      Cc: Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com>
      Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
      Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
      Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
      Cc: Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org>
      Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>
      Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com>
      Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
      Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
      Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>
      Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>
      Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
      106c992a
  7. 09 Oct, 2012 1 commit
    • Will Deacon's avatar
      mm: hugetlb: add arch hook for clearing page flags before entering pool · 5d3a551c
      Will Deacon authored
      The core page allocator ensures that page flags are zeroed when freeing
      pages via free_pages_check.  A number of architectures (ARM, PPC, MIPS)
      rely on this property to treat new pages as dirty with respect to the data
      cache and perform the appropriate flushing before mapping the pages into
      userspace.
      
      This can lead to cache synchronisation problems when using hugepages,
      since the allocator keeps its own pool of pages above the usual page
      allocator and does not reset the page flags when freeing a page into the
      pool.
      
      This patch adds a new architecture hook, arch_clear_hugepage_flags, so
      that architectures which rely on the page flags being in a particular
      state for fresh allocations can adjust the flags accordingly when a page
      is freed into the pool.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarWill Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
      Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.cz>
      Reviewed-by: default avatarMichal Hocko <mhocko@suse.cz>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
      5d3a551c
  8. 23 Oct, 2008 2 commits
  9. 24 Jul, 2008 2 commits
  10. 22 Jul, 2008 1 commit
    • Vegard Nossum's avatar
      x86: consolidate header guards · 77ef50a5
      Vegard Nossum authored
      This patch is the result of an automatic script that consolidates the
      format of all the headers in include/asm-x86/.
      
      The format:
      
      1. No leading underscore. Names with leading underscores are reserved.
      2. Pathname components are separated by two underscores. So we can
         distinguish between mm_types.h and mm/types.h.
      3. Everything except letters and numbers are turned into single
         underscores.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarVegard Nossum <vegard.nossum@gmail.com>
      77ef50a5
  11. 28 Apr, 2008 3 commits