Commit 82835fb3 authored by Jiri Olsa's avatar Jiri Olsa Committed by Greg Kroah-Hartman

perf/x86: Reject non sampling events with precise_ip


[ Upstream commit 18e7a45a ]

As Peter suggested [1] rejecting non sampling PEBS events,
because they dont make any sense and could cause bugs
in the NMI handler [2].

  [1] http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20170103094059.GC3093@worktop
  [2] http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1482931866-6018-3-git-send-email-jolsa@kernel.orgSigned-off-by: default avatarJiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: default avatarPeter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@kernel.org>
Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Vince Weaver <vince@deater.net>
Cc: Vince Weaver <vincent.weaver@maine.edu>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20170103142454.GA26251@kravaSigned-off-by: default avatarIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: default avatarSasha Levin <alexander.levin@verizon.com>
Signed-off-by: default avatarGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
parent 1c686333
......@@ -505,6 +505,10 @@ int x86_pmu_hw_config(struct perf_event *event)
if (event->attr.precise_ip > precise)
return -EOPNOTSUPP;
/* There's no sense in having PEBS for non sampling events: */
if (!is_sampling_event(event))
return -EINVAL;
}
/*
* check that PEBS LBR correction does not conflict with
......
Markdown is supported
0% or
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment