Commit c78b8de5 authored by Colin King's avatar Colin King Committed by Greg Kroah-Hartman

perf/x86/intel: Use ULL constant to prevent undefined shift behaviour


[ Upstream commit ad5013d5 ]

When x86_pmu.num_counters is 32 the shift of the integer constant 1 is
exceeding 32bit and therefor undefined behaviour.

Fix this by shifting 1ULL instead of 1.

Reported-by: CoverityScan CID#1192105 ("Bad bit shift operation")
Signed-off-by: default avatarColin Ian King <colin.king@canonical.com>
Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Kan Liang <kan.liang@intel.com>
Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com>
Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20170111114310.17928-1-colin.king@canonical.comSigned-off-by: default avatarThomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Signed-off-by: default avatarSasha Levin <alexander.levin@verizon.com>
Signed-off-by: default avatarGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
parent 6130fac9
......@@ -3978,7 +3978,7 @@ __init int intel_pmu_init(void)
x86_pmu.num_counters, INTEL_PMC_MAX_GENERIC);
x86_pmu.num_counters = INTEL_PMC_MAX_GENERIC;
}
x86_pmu.intel_ctrl = (1 << x86_pmu.num_counters) - 1;
x86_pmu.intel_ctrl = (1ULL << x86_pmu.num_counters) - 1;
if (x86_pmu.num_counters_fixed > INTEL_PMC_MAX_FIXED) {
WARN(1, KERN_ERR "hw perf events fixed %d > max(%d), clipping!",
......
Markdown is supported
0% or
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment