Commit eb03aa00 authored by Gerald Schaefer's avatar Gerald Schaefer Committed by Linus Torvalds

mm/hugetlb: improve locking in dissolve_free_huge_pages()

For every pfn aligned to minimum_order, dissolve_free_huge_pages() will
call dissolve_free_huge_page() which takes the hugetlb spinlock, even if
the page is not huge at all or a hugepage that is in-use.

Improve this by doing the PageHuge() and page_count() checks already in
dissolve_free_huge_pages() before calling dissolve_free_huge_page().  In
dissolve_free_huge_page(), when holding the spinlock, those checks need
to be revalidated.

Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20160926172811.94033-4-gerald.schaefer@de.ibm.comSigned-off-by: default avatarGerald Schaefer <gerald.schaefer@de.ibm.com>
Acked-by: default avatarMichal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
Acked-by: default avatarNaoya Horiguchi <n-horiguchi@ah.jp.nec.com>
Cc: "Kirill A . Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>
Cc: Mike Kravetz <mike.kravetz@oracle.com>
Cc: "Aneesh Kumar K . V" <aneesh.kumar@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>
Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>
Cc: Rui Teng <rui.teng@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>
Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
parent 082d5b6b
......@@ -1476,14 +1476,20 @@ out:
int dissolve_free_huge_pages(unsigned long start_pfn, unsigned long end_pfn)
{
unsigned long pfn;
struct page *page;
int rc = 0;
if (!hugepages_supported())
return rc;
for (pfn = start_pfn; pfn < end_pfn; pfn += 1 << minimum_order)
if (rc = dissolve_free_huge_page(pfn_to_page(pfn)))
break;
for (pfn = start_pfn; pfn < end_pfn; pfn += 1 << minimum_order) {
page = pfn_to_page(pfn);
if (PageHuge(page) && !page_count(page)) {
rc = dissolve_free_huge_page(page);
if (rc)
break;
}
}
return rc;
}
......
Markdown is supported
0% or
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment