1. 02 Sep, 2016 2 commits
  2. 11 Jun, 2016 1 commit
    • Linus Torvalds's avatar
      vfs: make the string hashes salt the hash · 8387ff25
      Linus Torvalds authored
      We always mixed in the parent pointer into the dentry name hash, but we
      did it late at lookup time.  It turns out that we can simplify that
      lookup-time action by salting the hash with the parent pointer early
      instead of late.
      
      A few other users of our string hashes also wanted to mix in their own
      pointers into the hash, and those are updated to use the same mechanism.
      
      Hash users that don't have any particular initial salt can just use the
      NULL pointer as a no-salt.
      
      Cc: Vegard Nossum <vegard.nossum@oracle.com>
      Cc: George Spelvin <linux@sciencehorizons.net>
      Cc: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
      Signed-off-by: 's avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
      8387ff25
  3. 28 May, 2016 1 commit
    • George Spelvin's avatar
      <linux/hash.h>: Add support for architecture-specific functions · 468a9428
      George Spelvin authored
      This is just the infrastructure; there are no users yet.
      
      This is modelled on CONFIG_ARCH_RANDOM; a CONFIG_ symbol declares
      the existence of <asm/hash.h>.
      
      That file may define its own versions of various functions, and define
      HAVE_* symbols (no CONFIG_ prefix!) to suppress the generic ones.
      
      Included is a self-test (in lib/test_hash.c) that verifies the basics.
      It is NOT in general required that the arch-specific functions compute
      the same thing as the generic, but if a HAVE_* symbol is defined with
      the value 1, then equality is tested.
      Signed-off-by: 's avatarGeorge Spelvin <linux@sciencehorizons.net>
      Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>
      Cc: Greg Ungerer <gerg@linux-m68k.org>
      Cc: Andreas Schwab <schwab@linux-m68k.org>
      Cc: Philippe De Muyter <phdm@macq.eu>
      Cc: linux-m68k@lists.linux-m68k.org
      Cc: Alistair Francis <alistai@xilinx.com>
      Cc: Michal Simek <michal.simek@xilinx.com>
      Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp>
      Cc: uclinux-h8-devel@lists.sourceforge.jp
      468a9428