• Geert Uytterhoeven's avatar
    lib/vsprintf: Remove atomic-unsafe support for %pCr · ec7bea37
    Geert Uytterhoeven authored
    commit 666902e42fd8344b923c02dc5b0f37948ff4f225 upstream.
    
    "%pCr" formats the current rate of a clock, and calls clk_get_rate().
    The latter obtains a mutex, hence it must not be called from atomic
    context.
    
    Remove support for this rarely-used format, as vsprintf() (and e.g.
    printk()) must be callable from any context.
    
    Any remaining out-of-tree users will start seeing the clock's name
    printed instead of its rate.
    Reported-by: default avatarJia-Ju Bai <baijiaju1990@gmail.com>
    Fixes: 900cca29 ("lib/vsprintf: add %pC{,n,r} format specifiers for clocks")
    Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1527845302-12159-5-git-send-email-geert+renesas@glider.be
    To: Jia-Ju Bai <baijiaju1990@gmail.com>
    To: Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>
    To: Michael Turquette <mturquette@baylibre.com>
    To: Stephen Boyd <sboyd@kernel.org>
    To: Zhang Rui <rui.zhang@intel.com>
    To: Eduardo Valentin <edubezval@gmail.com>
    To: Eric Anholt <eric@anholt.net>
    To: Stefan Wahren <stefan.wahren@i2se.com>
    To: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
    Cc: Sergey Senozhatsky <sergey.senozhatsky.work@gmail.com>
    Cc: Petr Mladek <pmladek@suse.com>
    Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
    Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
    Cc: linux-doc@vger.kernel.org
    Cc: linux-clk@vger.kernel.org
    Cc: linux-pm@vger.kernel.org
    Cc: linux-serial@vger.kernel.org
    Cc: linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org
    Cc: linux-renesas-soc@vger.kernel.org
    Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
    Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert+renesas@glider.be>
    Cc: stable@vger.kernel.org # 4.1+
    Signed-off-by: default avatarGeert Uytterhoeven <geert+renesas@glider.be>
    Signed-off-by: default avatarPetr Mladek <pmladek@suse.com>
    Signed-off-by: default avatarGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
    ec7bea37
Name
Last commit
Last update
Documentation Loading commit data...
arch Loading commit data...
block Loading commit data...
certs Loading commit data...
crypto Loading commit data...
drivers Loading commit data...
firmware Loading commit data...
fs Loading commit data...
include Loading commit data...
init Loading commit data...
ipc Loading commit data...
kernel Loading commit data...
lib Loading commit data...
mm Loading commit data...
net Loading commit data...
samples Loading commit data...
scripts Loading commit data...
security Loading commit data...
sound Loading commit data...
tools Loading commit data...
usr Loading commit data...
virt Loading commit data...
.cocciconfig Loading commit data...
.get_maintainer.ignore Loading commit data...
.gitattributes Loading commit data...
.gitignore Loading commit data...
.mailmap Loading commit data...
COPYING Loading commit data...
CREDITS Loading commit data...
Kbuild Loading commit data...
Kconfig Loading commit data...
MAINTAINERS Loading commit data...
Makefile Loading commit data...
README Loading commit data...
REPORTING-BUGS Loading commit data...