• Vegard Nossum's avatar
    kthread: fix boot hang (regression) on MIPS/OpenRISC · 0d8f2274
    Vegard Nossum authored
    commit b0f5a8f3 upstream.
    
    This fixes a regression in commit 4d6501dc where I didn't notice
    that MIPS and OpenRISC were reinitialising p->{set,clear}_child_tid to
    NULL after our initialisation in copy_process().
    
    We can simply get rid of the arch-specific initialisation here since it
    is now always done in copy_process() before hitting copy_thread{,_tls}().
    
    Review notes:
    
     - As far as I can tell, copy_process() is the only user of
       copy_thread_tls(), which is the only caller of copy_thread() for
       architectures that don't implement copy_thread_tls().
    
     - After this patch, there is no arch-specific code touching
       p->set_child_tid or p->clear_child_tid whatsoever.
    
     - It may look like MIPS/OpenRISC wanted to always have these fields be
       NULL, but that's not true, as copy_process() would unconditionally
       set them again _after_ calling copy_thread_tls() before commit
       4d6501dc.
    
    Fixes: 4d6501dc ("kthread: Fix use-after-free if kthread fork fails")
    Reported-by: default avatarGuenter Roeck <linux@roeck-us.net>
    Tested-by: Guenter Roeck <linux@roeck-us.net> # MIPS only
    Acked-by: default avatarStafford Horne <shorne@gmail.com>
    Acked-by: default avatarOleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>
    Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
    Cc: linux-mips@linux-mips.org
    Cc: Jonas Bonn <jonas@southpole.se>
    Cc: Stefan Kristiansson <stefan.kristiansson@saunalahti.fi>
    Cc: openrisc@lists.librecores.org
    Cc: Jamie Iles <jamie.iles@oracle.com>
    Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
    Signed-off-by: default avatarVegard Nossum <vegard.nossum@oracle.com>
    Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
    Signed-off-by: default avatarAmit Pundir <amit.pundir@linaro.org>
    Signed-off-by: default avatarGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
    0d8f2274
Name
Last commit
Last update
..
boot/dts Loading commit data...
configs Loading commit data...
include Loading commit data...
kernel Loading commit data...
lib Loading commit data...
mm Loading commit data...
Kconfig Loading commit data...
Makefile Loading commit data...
README.openrisc Loading commit data...
TODO.openrisc Loading commit data...