• Andrea Parri's avatar
    uprobes: Fix handle_swbp() vs. unregister() + register() race once more · 0b58d902
    Andrea Parri authored
    commit 09d3f015d1e1b4fee7e9bbdcf54201d239393391 upstream.
    
    Commit:
    
      142b18dd ("uprobes: Fix handle_swbp() vs unregister() + register() race")
    
    added the UPROBE_COPY_INSN flag, and corresponding smp_wmb() and smp_rmb()
    memory barriers, to ensure that handle_swbp() uses fully-initialized
    uprobes only.
    
    However, the smp_rmb() is mis-placed: this barrier should be placed
    after handle_swbp() has tested for the flag, thus guaranteeing that
    (program-order) subsequent loads from the uprobe can see the initial
    stores performed by prepare_uprobe().
    
    Move the smp_rmb() accordingly.  Also amend the comments associated
    to the two memory barriers to indicate their actual locations.
    Signed-off-by: 's avatarAndrea Parri <andrea.parri@amarulasolutions.com>
    Acked-by: 's avatarOleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>
    Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
    Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
    Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
    Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
    Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
    Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
    Cc: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
    Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
    Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com>
    Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
    Cc: Vince Weaver <vincent.weaver@maine.edu>
    Cc: stable@kernel.org
    Fixes: 142b18dd ("uprobes: Fix handle_swbp() vs unregister() + register() race")
    Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20181122161031.15179-1-andrea.parri@amarulasolutions.comSigned-off-by: 's avatarIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
    Signed-off-by: 's avatarGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
    0b58d902
Name
Last commit
Last update
..
Makefile Loading commit data...
callchain.c Loading commit data...
core.c Loading commit data...
hw_breakpoint.c Loading commit data...
internal.h Loading commit data...
ring_buffer.c Loading commit data...
uprobes.c Loading commit data...