• Stefan Roese's avatar
    watchdog: Implement generic watchdog_reset() version · 06985289
    Stefan Roese authored
    This patch tries to implement a generic watchdog_reset() function that
    can be used by all boards that want to service the watchdog device in
    U-Boot. This watchdog servicing is enabled via CONFIG_WATCHDOG.
    
    Without this approach, new boards or platforms needed to implement a
    board specific version of this functionality, mostly copy'ing the same
    code over and over again into their board or platforms code base.
    
    With this new generic function, the scattered other functions are now
    removed to be replaced by the generic one. The new version also enables
    the configuration of the watchdog timeout via the DT "timeout-sec"
    property (if enabled via CONFIG_OF_CONTROL).
    
    This patch also adds a new flag to the GD flags, to flag that the
    watchdog is ready to use and adds the pointer to the watchdog device
    to the GD. This enables us to remove the global "watchdog_dev"
    variable, which was prone to cause problems because of its potentially
    very early use in watchdog_reset(), even before the BSS is cleared.
    Signed-off-by: Stefan Roese's avatarStefan Roese <sr@denx.de>
    Cc: Heiko Schocher <hs@denx.de>
    Cc: Tom Rini <trini@konsulko.com>
    Cc: Michal Simek <michal.simek@xilinx.com>
    Cc: "Marek Behún" <marek.behun@nic.cz>
    Cc: Daniel Schwierzeck <daniel.schwierzeck@gmail.com>
    Cc: Maxim Sloyko <maxims@google.com>
    Cc: Erik van Luijk <evanluijk@interact.nl>
    Cc: Ryder Lee <ryder.lee@mediatek.com>
    Cc: Weijie Gao <weijie.gao@mediatek.com>
    Cc: Simon Glass <sjg@chromium.org>
    Cc: "Álvaro Fernández Rojas" <noltari@gmail.com>
    Cc: Philippe Reynes <philippe.reynes@softathome.com>
    Cc: Christophe Leroy <christophe.leroy@c-s.fr>
    Reviewed-by: default avatarMichal Simek <michal.simek@xilinx.com>
    Tested-by: Michal Simek <michal.simek@xilinx.com> (on zcu100)
    06985289