• Jiri Olsa's avatar
    perf: Add ability to attach user level registers dump to sample · 4018994f
    Jiri Olsa authored
    Introducing PERF_SAMPLE_REGS_USER sample type bit to trigger the dump of
    user level registers on sample. Registers we want to dump are specified
    by sample_regs_user bitmask.
    
    Only user level registers are dumped at the moment. Meaning the register
    values of the user space context as it was before the user entered the
    kernel for whatever reason (syscall, irq, exception, or a PMI happening
    in userspace).
    
    The layout of the sample_regs_user bitmap is described in
    asm/perf_regs.h for archs that support register dump.
    
    This is going to be useful to bring Dwarf CFI based stack unwinding on
    top of samples.
    Original-patch-by: default avatarFrederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
    [ Dump registers ABI specification. ]
    Signed-off-by: default avatarJiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
    Suggested-by: default avatarStephane Eranian <eranian@google.com>
    Cc: "Frank Ch. Eigler" <fche@redhat.com>
    Cc: Arun Sharma <asharma@fb.com>
    Cc: Benjamin Redelings <benjamin.redelings@nescent.org>
    Cc: Corey Ashford <cjashfor@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
    Cc: Cyrill Gorcunov <gorcunov@openvz.org>
    Cc: Frank Ch. Eigler <fche@redhat.com>
    Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
    Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
    Cc: Masami Hiramatsu <masami.hiramatsu.pt@hitachi.com>
    Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
    Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
    Cc: Robert Richter <robert.richter@amd.com>
    Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com>
    Cc: Tom Zanussi <tzanussi@gmail.com>
    Cc: Ulrich Drepper <drepper@gmail.com>
    Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1344345647-11536-3-git-send-email-jolsa@redhat.comSigned-off-by: default avatarArnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
    4018994f
perf_regs.h 567 Bytes